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Collins Dennis

From: Hans, erend I
Sent: Monday, October 21, 2019 11:35 AM

To: Collins Dennis

Subject: RE: Questions about CT and refusals by non-resident drivers
Hi Dennis,

Both CT and MA are part of the Interstate Driver Compact and report to each other on licenses
suspensions and OUls. Accordingly, MA and CT will treat a license suspension or OUI conviction in
another state just as if had occurred in their state. In CT, out-of-state priors must be “substantially the
same.”

Section 14-227m highlighted below states that “[flor purposes of the imposition of penalties for a
second or third and subsequent offense pursuant to this subsection, a conviction under the
provisions of subsection (a) of this section, subsection (a) of section 14-227a, subsection (a)
of section 14-227¢g, subdivision (1) or (2) of subsection (a) of section 14-227n, subsection (a) of
section 53a-56b or subsection (a) of section 53a-60d or a conviction in any other state of any
offense, the essential elements of which are determined by the court to be substantially the
same as the elements of the aforementioned provisions, shall constitute a prior conviction for
the same offense.”

Here are the answers to your other questions. | would also contact the MA TSRP, Andrea Nardone

Nardone |} N i you need further info on MA laws. She’s very helpful.

CGS 14-227a(q)(1)(C)-(3)(C)

Upon a first DUI conviction, a non-resident’s driving privileges are suspended for 45 days.
As a condition for the restoration of their driving privileges, a non-resident will be required to
install an ignition interlock device (l1ID) on each motor vehicle they own or operate. For a one-
year period, the non-resident will be prohibited from operating a motor vehicle unless such
motor vehicle is equipped with a DMV approved IID.

For a second DUI conviction, a non-resident will be prohibited from operating a motor vehicle
without an IID for a period of three years. Further, the non-resident’s first year of transportation
during the three-year period is limited to school, work, substance abuse treatment, and/or
meetings with a probation officer.

A third DUI conviction will result in the permanent revocation of a non-resident’s driving
privileges. In addition, an [ID may be installed for any period during the non-resident’s lifetime.
Removal of an 1ID must be authorized by the DMV commissioner after a showing of “good
cause” and only after a 15-year period.

The language of the statute does not distinguish an operator’s license from CDL. Rather, the

non-resident’s “operating privilege” within the state is suspended.

Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 90, §30B




Under Massachusetts law, the licensing authority of a Driver License Compact (DLC) state
must report each conviction of a driver from another party state to the licensing authority of that
driver’'s home state. (Both Connecticut and Massachusetts are party to the DLC). In the event
of a DUI conviction, the licensing authority in the driver’'s home state is required to act as if the
offense occurred in the home state.

The Commonwealth of Massachusetts Registrar of Motor Vehicles ("RMV") reports suspensions and
revocations to the National Driver’s Registry (NDR) as does CT.

M.G.L.A. 90 § 30B
§ 30B. Interstate compact; motor vehicle convictions

The secretary of public safety is hereby authorized and directed to enter into a compact on behalf of
the commonwealth with any other jurisdiction legally joining therein in the form substantially as
follows:

((a) “State” means a state, territory, or possession of the United States, the District of Columbia, or
the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico.

(b) “Home State” means the state that has issued and has the power to suspend or revoke the use of
the license or permit to operate a motor vehicle.

(c) “Conviction” means a conviction of any offense related to the use or operation of a motor vehicle
that is prohibited by state law, municipal ordinance, or administrative rule or regulation; or a forfeiture
of bail, bond, or other security deposited to secure appearance by a person charged with having
committed any such offense, and which conviction or forfeiture is required to be reported to the
licensing authority.

(I1) The licensing authority of a party state shall report each conviction of a person from another party
state occurring within its jurisdiction to the licensing authority of the home state of the licensee. Such
report shall clearly identify the person convicted; describe the violation specifying the section of the
statute, code or ordinance violated; identify the court in which action was taken; indicate whether a
plea of guilty or not guilty was entered, or the security; and shall include any special findings made in
connection therewith.

(llM(a) The licensing authority in the home state, for the purposes of suspension, revocation, or
limitation of the license to operate a motor vehicle, shall give the same effect to the conduct reported,
pursuant to subsection Il as it would if such conduct had occurred in the home state, in the case of
convictions for:

(1) Manslaughter or negligent homicide resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle;

(2) Driving a motor vehicle while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or narcotic drug, or under
the influence of any other drug to a degree that renders the driver incapable of safely driving a motor
vehicle;

(3) Any felony in the commission of which a motor vehicle is used;

(b) As to other convictions, reported pursuant to subsection I, the licensing authority in the home
state shall give such effect to the conduct as is provided by the laws of the home state;

(c) If the laws of a party state do not provide for offenses or violations denominated or described in
precisely the words employed in subdivision (a) of this subsection, such party state shall construe the
denominations and descriptions appearing in the subdivision (a) hereof as being applicable to and
identifying those offenses or violations of a substantially similar nature, and the laws of such party
state shall contain such provisions as may be necessary to ensure that full force and effect is given to
this subsection.

(IV) Upon application for a license to drive, the licensing authority in a party state shall ascertain
whether the applicant has ever held, or is the holder of, a license to drive issued by any other party



state. The licensing authority in the state where application is made shall not issue a license to drive
to the applicant if:

(1) The applicant has held such a license, but the same has been suspended by reason, in whole or
in part, of a violation and if such suspension period has not terminated.

(2) The applicant has held such a license, but the same has been revoked by reason, in whole or in
part, of a violation; and if such revocation has not terminated, except that after the expiration of one
year from the date the license was revoked, such person may make application for a new license if
permitted by law. The licensing authority may refuse to issue a license to any such applicant if, after
investigation, the licensing authority determines that it will not be safe to grant to such person the
privilege of driving a motor vehicle on the public highways.

(3) The applicant is the holder of a license to drive issued by another party state and current in force
unless the applicant surrenders such license.

(V) Except as expressly required by provisions of this compact, nothing contained herein shall be
construed to affect the right of any party state to apply any of its other laws relating to licenses to
drive to any person or circumstance, nor to invalidate or prevent any driver license agreement or
other cooperative arrangement between a party state and a nonparty state.

(V1) (a) The head of the licensing authority of each party state shall be the administrator of this
compact for his state. The administrators, acting jointly, shall have the power to formulate all
necessary and proper procedures for the exchange of information under this compact.

(b) The administrator of each party state shall furnish to the administrator of each other party state
any information or documents reasonably necessary to facilitate the administration of this compact.
(VII) (a) This compact shall enter into force and become effective as to any state when it has enacted
the same into law.

(b) Any party state may withdraw from this compact by enacting a statute repealing the same, but no
such withdrawal shall take effect until six months after the executive head of the withdrawing state
has given notice of the withdrawal to the executive heads of all other party states. No withdrawal shall
affect the validity or applicability by the licensing authorities of states remaining party to the compact
of any report of conviction occurring prior to the withdrawal.

(V) This compact shall be liberally construed so as to effectuate the purposes thereof. The
provisions of this compact shall be severable; and if any phrase, clause, sentence, or provision of this
compact is declared to be contrary to the constitution of any party state or of the United States or the
applicability thereof to any government, agency, person, or circumstance is held invalid, the validity of
the remainder of this compact and the applicability thereof to any government, agency, person, or
circumstances shall not be affected thereby. If this compact shall be held contrary to the constitution
of any state party thereto, the compact shall remain in full force and effect as the remaining states
and in full force and effect as to the state affected to all severable matters.

(IX) As used in the compact, the term “licensing authority” with reference to this state shall mean the
registrar of motor vehicles. Said registrar shall furnish to the appropriate authorities of any party state
any information or documents reasonably necessary to facilitate the administration of subsections Il,
[l and IV of the compact.

(X) The compact administrator provided for in subsection VI of the compact shall not be entitled to
any additional compensation on account of his service as such administrator, but shall be entitled to
expenses incurred in connection with his duties and responsibilities as administrator, in the same
manner, as for expenses incurred in connection with any other duties or responsibilities of his office
or employment.

(XI) As used in the compact, with reference to this state, the term “executive head” shall mean the
governor.

(XII) Any court or any other agency of this state, or a subdivision thereof, which has jurisdiction to
take any action suspending, revoking or otherwise limiting a license to drive, shall report any such
action and the adjudication upon which it is based to the registrar within fourteen days on forms
approved by the registrar.



Mass. Gen. Laws Ann. ch. 90, § 30B (West)

Brenda L. Hans
Assistant State's Attorney

Traffic Safety Resource Prosecutor
300 Corporate Place

Rocky Hill, CT 06067

(860) 258-5926

Fax (860) 258-5838

CONFIDENTIAL INFORMATION: The information contained in this e-mail is confidential and protected from general disclosure. If the recipient or the
reader of this e-mail is not the intended recipient, or person responsible to receive this e-mail, you are requested to delete this e-mail immediately
and do not disseminate or distribute or copy. If you have received this e-mail by mistake, please notify us immediately by replying to the message so
that we can take appropriate action immediately and see to it that this mistake is rectified.

From: Collins Dennis_

Sent: Friday, October 18, 2019 10:42 AM

To: Hans, Brenda

Subject: Re: Questions about CT and refusals by non-resident drivers

More than enough! In fact, if you need more time, that's not an issue at all!

Thank you!

Dennis

From: Hans, Brenda

Sent: Friday, October 18, 2019 10:39 AM

To: Collins Dennis

Subject: RE: Questions about CT and refusals by non-resident drivers
Hi Dennis,

| will work on this along with our intern. Is next Monday by 5 pm soon enough?

Brenda L. Hans
Assistant State's Attorney

Traffic Safety Resource Prosecutor
300 Corporate Place

Rocky Hill, CT 06067

(860) 258-5926



Fax (860) 258-5838

CONFIDENTIAL INFORMATION: The information contained in this e-mail is confidential and protected from general disclosure. If the recipient or the
reader of this e-mail is not the intended recipient, or person responsible to receive this e-mail, you are requested to delete this e-mail immediately
and do not disseminate or distribute or copy. If you have received this e-mail by mistake, please notify us immediately by replying to the message so
that we can take appropriate action immediately and see to it that this mistake is rectified.

From: Collins Dennis
Sent: Friday, October 18, 2019 9:53 AM

Tos Hans, rend |

Subject: Questions about CT and refusals by non-resident drivers
Ms. Hans -

Joanne Thomka from the National Traffic Law Center gave me your contact information and suggested you
could help me with some questions about how CT handles refusals by non-resident drivers. She also said it
was okay to drop her name, so | did!

By way of background, | am an investigator with the National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB). As you may
know, we are leading the Federal safety investigation into the crash in Randolph, NH on 6/21/19 that involved
a MA driver striking and killing several motorcyclists. That driver, a CDL holder, had been arrested in CT for
suspicion of DUl on 5/11/19. He agreed to a breathalyzer test (with a result of .000), but subsequently refused
a urine test. In accordance with CT law, the officer submitted a report to the DMV, and the Commissioner
suspended his non-resident operating privileges effective 6/10/19. That suspension was communicated to MA
electronically, via CDLIS and by paper.

As part of the investigation, we are attempting to document this procedure and have a few questions, and I'm
hoping you can help. Here they are:

e What laws, rules, or agreements govern the communication of license actions against a driver licensed
by MA back to MA (i.e. the driver's license compact, any state laws, any DMV polices, etc.)?
¢ When this MA-licensed driver refused the urine test and his non-resident privileges were suspended,
how long was the length of suspension (i.e. is there a minimum? is it indefinite?)
e How does a suspended MA driver get their CT privileges restored?
¢ When this driver was suspended, did CT consider his operator's license, his CDL, or both suspended?
I thank you in advance for any help you can give! Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions.

Dennis

Dennis Collins

Senior Highway Investigator, Human Performance
National Transportation Safety Board

Office of Highway Safety (HS-20)

490 L'Enfant Plaza SW

Washington, D.C. 20594

I

202-314-6449 Office

202-459-9338 Fax
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