STATE OF CALIFORNIA Gavin Newsom, Governor

## PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION

505 VAN NESS AVE SAN FRANCISO, CA 94102

## 2.2.

## (Electronically Transmitted - No hard copy will follow)

August 27, 2019

Mr. Henry Li General Manager Sacramento Regional Transit District 1400 29<sup>th</sup> Street Sacramento, CA 95134

Subject: Preliminary recommendation from investigation of 8/22/2019 Collision

Dear Mr. Li:

During the course of our investigation activities, along with the National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB), undertaken since the collision between two trains on Sacramento Regional Transit District's (SRTD) Blue line on the evening of August 22, 2019, Staff has identified two actions to address potential hazards we believe should be mitigated at once, while we participate along with NTSB investigators to complete our investigation to determine all causal and contributory factors. We are requiring the two actions identified below be implemented immediately.

- 1 Immediately cease testing or troubleshooting of trains on SRTD's mainline track during revenue hours; and
- 2 Require that Metro Control always have a second Transportation Supervisor present in the Metro Control Center so that a single person is not dispatching and controlling trains simultaneously.

We will revisit the need for and advisability of continuing these requirements as the investigation findings become established.

Should you have any questions concerning these items, please contact me at (415) 308-7698 or <a href="mailto:roger.clugston@cpuc.ca.gov">roger.clugston@cpuc.ca.gov</a>; or Mr. Daren Gilbert at (916) 928-6858 or <a href="mailto:daren.gilbert@cpuc.ca.gov">daren.gilbert@cpuc.ca.gov</a>.

Sincerely,

Roger Clugston, Director Rail Safety Division

Cc (transmittal via email):

Tomas Torres – NTSB Joseph Powell – NTSB Michael Cormie – SRTD

Salvador Herrera – CPUC Michael Rose – CPUC Shane Roberson – CPUC Recipient, Organization August 27, 2019 Page 2 of ?

John Darragh – SRTD Rob Hoslett – SRTD Daren Gilbert – CPUC Michael Borer – CPUC Matt Ames – CPUC Stephen Artus –CPUC Steven Espinal –CPUC